International Association of
Therapeutic Drug Monitoring and Clinical Toxicology
Fostering education, research and practice in TDM and CT

Patsalos Prize

Awarded for Best Therapeutic Drug Monitoring Journal Manuscript

Professor Philip Patsalos and his wife Ellie, London, UK, set up the Patsalos Prize for the best TDM manuscript published in Therapeutic Drug Monitoring in a given two year calendar period and which will be awarded at the IATDMCT Congress.

Terms of Reference

Award of Prize
The Prize will be awarded at the IATDMCT Congress for a 5-year period (2019, 2021, 2023, 2025, 2027).  
The prize may not be awarded at each Congress if a quality manuscript cannot be identified.

Selection Committee

  • IATDMCT President (Chair)
  • Prof. Philip Patsalos
  • Editor-in-Chiefs (Therapeutic Drug Monitoring)
  • President-elect

Procedure for manuscript nomination and selection of winner

  1. The Editor-in-Chief will first identify potential eligible manuscripts and make a proposal to the chairperson.
    Selection criteria are: originality, conclusiveness, study design and performance, impact on science and practice (enhancing patient treatment/care), impact on future developments, global importance, etc.
  2. The chairperson will check whether the first author (to whom the Prize will be awarded) is an active member of IATDMCT.
  3. The chairperson will prepare a list of all eligible manuscripts and distribute the list to members of the Selection Committee for their consideration.
  4. By conference call, a winner will be selected by "simple majority".

Which manuscripts are eligible for nomination

  • Full length original research manuscripts published during the two previous years of the year the prize is going to be awarded
    (i.e. for the prize awarded in 2019, papers published in 2017 and 2018 will be considered).
  • Said manuscripts will have made exceptional ontribution towards advancing knowledge in the field of TDM.

The selection procedure will start in the congress year and as soon as possible after the publication of the December issue of Therapeutic Drug Monitoring of the year before.

5.000€ plus an invitation to make a short presentation (Patsalos Lecture) at the Opening Ceremonies of the IATDMCT Congress. In addition, IATDMCT offers a two-year free membership, anticipating active contributions to IATDMCT by the recipient.

2017 Recipient

IMG Neely

President Loralie Langman, presents the 2017 Patsalos Prize
to Michael Neely, USA

Sponsored by

Philip & Ellie Patsalos

patsalos prize

Accurately achieving target busulfan exposure in children and adolescents with very limited sampling and the BestDose software

Neely, Michael MD; Philippe, Michael MSc; Rushing, Teresa PharmD; Fu, Xiaowei PhD; van Guilder, Michael PhD; Bayard, David PhD; Schumitzky, Alan PhD; Bleyzac, Nathalie PharmD, PhD; Goutelle, Sylvain PharmD, PhD
Therapeutic Drug Monitoring. 38(3): 332-342, June 2016

Past Recipients

  • 2013 Laure Elens, Belgium
  • 2013 Franck Saint-Marcoux, France
  • 2011 Karl B. Scheidweiler, USA
  • 2009 Nils Tore Vethe, Norway


Contact Us